‘The controversial golf rule’… The ‘Bradley Rule Mistake’

It is an unfortunate penalty for Keegan Bradley (USA, photo).

It occurred in the second round of the PGA Tour’s 5th Major The Place Championship (total prize money of 20 million dollars) held at TPC Sawgrass in Fontvedra Beach, Florida in March last year. After succeeding in ‘2 on’ in hole 16 (par 5), he missed the 18m eagle putt, but left a chance for a 3m birdie. As he made his mark and was about to pick up the ball, he was suddenly hit by a gust of wind and the ball rolled away. I took it back and putt, and it ended with a par. 메이저놀이터

The match commissioner decided to “impose a two-stroke penalty for misplay” on the next hole. “The ‘mark’ takes effect only when the ball is picked up after marking it,” he explained. The ball is still ‘in play’. If the ball moves here, the stroke must be made from where it stopped.

Bradley lowered his head, saying, “None of my companions had any objection.” Bradley finished the tournament in 5th place (9 under par, 279 strokes) by driving 4 under par each in the 3rd and 4th rounds. The prize money is 820,000 dollars (approximately 1.01 billion won). If there were only two penalty strokes in the second round, he could have tied for third place (11 under par 277 strokes) and earned $1.18 million (approximately 1.45 billion won). He lost 360,000 dollars (440 million won) because he did not know the rules of golf properly.

Bradley is a veteran who debuted on the PGA Tour in 2011 and has won five career victories, including major PGA Championship victories. At the Jojo Championship held in Japan in October last year, the championship trophy was added 4 years and 1 month after the BMW Championship in September 2018. It is currently ranked 27th in the world.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *